In Honor of Lois Lane: Superhero Saturday

This week I’ve been reading Gwenda Bond’s great YA novel, Lois Lane: Double Down, which is a sequel to the equally fantastic Lois Lane: Fallout. I love these books, and I wish I could go back in time and give them as a gift to my teenage self.

Second only to the fact that she loved to write, that teenage girl was on her high school and college newspapers because she wanted to be Lois Lane.  Now, my career path eventually changed, but my love for this character never has. She’s strong and funny and compassionate and smart – and yes, she should realize who’s behind Clark’s glasses (that’s the biggest thing Man of Steel did right), and some versions of her should spend less time screaming – but she is often, and I mean this, the person I channel when I’m trying to feel strong or daring.

Some people might argue that Lois Lane is not a superhero, and maybe they’re right.  But if the definition of a superhero is someone who uses their skills in a unique way to take down crime and corruption, then Lois certainly fits the bill.  She’s also been around as long as Superman, appearing right along side our favorite Boy Scout in Action Comics #1 in 1938.

And though there are may reasons that Superman is my favorite one of them has to be that he has the good sense to love Lois Lane.

Lois Lane

Save

Leave a Reply

