Writer Confessions: There, their, they’re – we’re all human.

I have a confession to make – I may be a writer, but I make grammar and punctuation mistakes – frequently.  And you know what?  Most of the time, it’s not a big deal.

Now before my excellent high school English teachers come out of the woodwork to beat me over the head with a dictionary I want to clarify that I’m not saying grammar and punctuation aren’t important.  They are – to write clearly and effectively you need to know the basic rules of spelling, grammar, and punctuation.

But I also think if people, and especially me, get too hung up on perfecting their comma usage (one of the things I am particularly bad at) they might forget that the point of language is to communicate with other human beings.  Yes, I cringe when I find a typo in something I’ve posted – but I also know that if I think too hard about the lack of perfection in my writing I get too scared to post anything at all- and that defeats the whole purpose of writing a blog in the first place.

So yeah I’m going to confuse their, they’re, and there.  I’m going to drop the Oxford comma on occasion.  And I love starting sentences with conjunctions and using slang – that’s not even an accident, I just like writing that way.

We should all be thankful for spellcheck and copy editors, and try our best to keep our text as shiny and weed free as possible – but more importantly we should just keep writing.

Leave a Reply

