Why I Write – Part II

I love words.

I love short words, and long words, and noisy words, and quiet words.

I’m the little girl who always read the back of the cereal box at the breakfast table.  The woman who uses the “define” search in Google several times a week because I want to know exactly what a word means or where it came from.  The writer who gets a little crazy trying to think up the right name for a character, because names and words have power.

I’m the person who was excited for a week when I found out about the word “numinous” – because it’s always a thrill to find out there’s a word that perfectly describes something you have felt.

So I write because there’s no better way to play with my favorite toys – words.

Leave a Reply

